This is the "All Databases" page of the "A to Z list of databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A to Z list of databases  

An alphabetical listing of all of the library's licensed electronic resources, including indexing and abstracting databases, electronic reference tools such as Hoover's and Oxford Music Online, and streaming content such as Naxos Music Library
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://saintmarys.libguides.com/a-to-z Print Guide RSS Updates

All Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

A to Z list of databases

  • Academic Search Premier
    Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. Dates vary, mostly 1980s-present.
  • Academic Video Online: Premium
    Collection of streaming videos in academic subjects.
  • AccessScience
    Online edition of McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
  • AGRICOLA
    Citations for articles in agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Dates: 1970-present. Note: Does not contain links to full text content at SMC. Ask a librarian for help!
  • America's Historical Newspapers - College Edition, 1690-1922
    News articles from hundreds of primary sources. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print.
  • American Memory (Library of Congress)
    Digital archive of images, sound recordings, texts, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Excellent primary source materials.
  • American Museum of Natural History
    Articles from scientific journals in zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology. All journals are published by the AMNH and are in full text online. Dates: 1880s-present.
  • Art & Architecture Complete
    Articles from scholarly, popular, and professional journals on art, architecture, design, and related topics. Also includes a collection of over 64,000 images. Dates vary, mostly 2000s-present.
  • Artemis
    Search literature databases Literature Resource Center, LitFinder and other Gale literature resources from one platform.
  • Art Full Text
    H. W. Wilson database of 304 full text art journals.
  • Art Index (print)
    Dates: 1929-January 2005. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • ARTstor
    Digital library of high-resolution art and architecture images for educational use. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and related topics. Note: Initial access rights to the ARTstor Collection were provided by the Barbara Duncan, Class of 1975, Memorial Fund, established by Barb's Saint Mary's College friends and Rome Program 'family' in recognition of her spirit and passion for Saint Mary's College, the arts and education.
  • ArXiv
    Scholarly articles in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Open access (free full-text articles). Dates vary, mostly 1990s-present.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
    Scholarly and popular journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, including a collection of major religion and theology journals. Dates vary.
  • Bibliographic Index (print)
    Dates: 1943-present. Location: Index tables, first floor.
  • Biography in Context
    Biographies and full-text newspaper and magazine articles on people living and dead. Includes many images and links to vetted web sites. Dates: 1985-present. Old link: http://find.galegroup.com/menu/start?prod=BIC1&userGroupName=nd_stmarys
  • Biography Index (print)
    Dates: 1946-present. Location: Index tables, first floor.
  • Biological Abstracts
    A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains 13.2 million archival records from 1969.
  • Biomedical Reference Collection
    Articles from journals in clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system. This database is included in Medline. Dates vary, mostly 1990s-present.
  • Book Review Digest (print)
    Dates: 1905-present. Location: Index tables, first floor.
  • Book Review Index (print)
    Dates: 1965-present. Location: Index tables, first floor.
  • Business Source Premier
    Scholarly and popular journal articles in business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting. Also includes international trade, company, and industry information. Dates vary, mostly 1985-present.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    Articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Dates: 1981-present.
  • Choice Reviews Online
    Reviews of academic library resources: books, databases, and other materials. Discover outstanding academic titles by subject.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Source of news, information, job listings, etc. for higher education.
  • CINAHL-FT
    Scholarly and professional journal articles about nursing and allied health. Includes nursing interventions, management, education, theory, and history, as well as physical and occupational therapy. Dates: 1981-present.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Scholarly and professional articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. Dates vary; some titles go back to early 1900s.
  • Company Profiles
    Detailed information on over 10,000 companies, including history, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, and subsidiaries. Dates: current.
  • Corporate Resource Net
    Articles from nearly 1200 full-text magazines and journals in business, marketing, finance, and other topics related to the corporate world. Dates vary, mostly 1990s-present.
  • Credo Reference Online
    Collection of 667 reference books, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Includes the Bridgeman Art Gallery Archive, thousands of reproductions of art from museums around the world.
  • EBSCO databases
    This link takes you to a list of all the EBSCO databases to which the Cushwa-Leighton Library subscribes. You can then select which database(s) you want to search.
  • EBSCOhost Mobile Databases
    Interface is optimized for mobile computing devices and smartphones, including the iPhone, BlackBerry, and Android devices. Includes access to Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, MLA Bibliography, PsycINFO, and more.
  • EDGAR
    U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission database of filings of companies (10-K,10-Q, proxies, etc.) and mutual funds. Dates: 1933-present.
  • trial iconeHRAF World Cultures
    Trial until Dec. 14, 2014. Ethnographic collections from Yale University. Information on all aspects of cultural and social life; organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
  • ERIC
    Articles from scholarly and professional journals in education. Also includes ERIC documents: non-journal documents such as technical reports or conference presentations. Dates: 1966-present.
  • Essay and General Literature Index (print)
    Dates: 1900-present. Location: Reference Books, call number PN 6141.E78
  • Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
    238,500 video clips in business & econ, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search the full text of encyclopedias and reference books in various disciplines, especially history. A great place to start a research project or search across subjects and disciplines.
  • Gender Studies Database
    Scholarly journal articles and book chapters on topics in women's studies, gender studies, and related fields. Dates vary, mostly 1972-present.
  • Google Scholar
    Scholarly articles, books, and theses on all topics using the Google search box. Some results may not be peer-reviewed. Note: Some search results link to full text -- look for "Local Holdings Available."
  • GreenFile
    Scholarly and popular articles on issues related to the environment. Dates vary.
  • Guide to Social Science and Religion in Periodical Literature (print)
    Dates: 1969-2006. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • Harvard Library Open Collections Program: Women Working
    Digital archive of primary source documents including books, manuscripts, maps, photos, and texts on topics including working women at the turn of the century and immigration to the U.S.
  • Health Business Full Text
    Articles from professional and scholarly journals on hospital and health care management and administration. Dates vary, mostly 1990s-present.
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Articles from nursing and allied health journals, as well as consumer health information and reference books. Dates vary. Old link: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_stmary_e?db=HRCA
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Dates vary, mostly 1980s-present.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Mostly scholarly articles on nursing, health, medicine, alternative medicine, care and treatment options, and allied disciplines. Dates vary, mostly 1980s- present.
  • Hoover's
    Brief information on 15,000 public and private companies. Information includes summary financials, history, top competitors, top officers, and more. Note: Some information may only be available for a fee; if you are asked to pay, talk to a librarian!
  • Humanities Index (print)
    Dates: 1974-1998. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • Index to Journals in Communication Studies (print)
    Dates: 1990-1995. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • Informe!
    Popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets. The interface is in Spanish. Dates: 1997-present.
  • Inspire
    Collection of databases funded by the Indiana State Library. Includes Academic Search Premier, Biography In Context, Nursing Resource Center, and more.
  • JSTOR
    Full text of scholarly journals in many subjects, especially the humanities and social sciences. Note: May not include recent issues. JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I and II; Dates: early 1900s to 2-5 years ago.
  • Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
    Scholarly and professional articles on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Indexes scholarly articles, books, research reports, and proceedings. Dates: 1960s-present.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Criticism and interpretation of plays, novels, poetry and short stories; and biographical essays on more than 100,000 authors. Dates vary.
  • LitFinder
    Provides full text, citations, or excerpts from poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
  • Making of America Collection
    Digital collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes primary source books and journal articles. Dates: 1850s-1900.
  • MAS Ultra School Edition
    Articles from popular magazines, pamphlets, and journals on current issues, designed for K-12 students. Dates vary, mostly 1990s-present.
  • MasterFile Premier
    Popular and professional articles from general-interest magazines and other sources. Includes full-text reference books and biographies. Contains primarily non-scholarly articles. Dates vary.
  • trial iconMathSciNet
    Trial until Nov. 14, 2014. Database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.
  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection
    Full text of almost 300 local and regional newspapers, plus some international newspapers. Newspapers include The Bloomington Herald-Times, The Kokomo Tribune, The Fort Wayne News-Sentinel, and The Gary Tribune. International newspapers include The Arab News (Saudi Arabia), The Bangkok Post, The Daily Mail (UK) and The Daily Yomiuri (Japan). Updated daily; archive includes the last 90 days.
  • Medline (via EBSCO)
    Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Contains links to full text content at SMC. Dates: 1950s-present.
  • Middle Search Plus
    Designed for for middle and junior high school students. Contains full text from 120 education, general reference, health and science magazines. Also contains some reference books. Dates vary.
  • Military and Government Collection
    Articles from trade and popular magazines for military personnel and government officials, and current military news and pamphlets. Dates vary.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Detailed information on 7,100 journals, including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. Dates: current.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Scholarly articles in literature and linguistics, including books, essay collections, conference proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Dates: 1926-present.
  • Mobile access to EBSCOhost databases
    Interface is optimized for mobile computing devices and smartphones, including the iPhone, BlackBerry, and Android devices. Includes access to Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, ERIC, MLA Bibliography, PsycINFO, and more.
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery
    Contains over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more. Dates vary.
  • New York Times Index (print)
    Dates: 1907-2004. Location: Index tables, first floor.
  • trial iconNewspaper Source Plus  
      
    Articles from national, international, and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts from major national media. Newspapers include The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Times (London), and over 1200 others. Transcripts include CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, and others. Dates vary, mostly the last 3-5 years.
  • Newsstand (ProQuest)
    Full text of national, international, and regional newspapers. Newspapers include The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, USA Today, The South Bend Tribune, and over 850 others. Updated daily; New York Times coverage is 1980-present.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
    Articles from scholarly journals and professional magazines in nursing and allied health fields. Dates vary. Old link: http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_stmary_e?db=PPNU
  • Nursing Resource Center
    Includes disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams, as well as core encyclopedias and reference books. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process. Dates vary. old link: http://smcproxy1.saintmarys.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_stmary_e?db=NRC
  • Our Documents
    One hundred milestone documents from American history, presented as facsimile page images, with introductions that provide historical context. Maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration. Dates: 1776 to 1965.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Grove Art Online (formerly the 34 vol. Grove Dictionary of Art), Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
  • Oxford English Dictionary Online
    "The definitive record of the English language."
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Reference content and commentary in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Provided though a NEH grant Feb, 2012-March 2013.
  • Oxford Music Online
    Comprehensive encyclopedia of Western art music (“classical music”), with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music. Also includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music. Previously known as Grove Music Online.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    244 electronic reference books, many dictionaries, published by Oxford University Press.
  • Philosopher's Index
    Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy. 1940-
  • Primary Search
    Designed for elementary schools, this database contains articles from children's magazines, as well as almanacs and concise encyclopedias. Dates: 1984-present.
  • Professional Development Collection
    Scholarly and professional articles about education, covering children's health and development, pedagogical theory, and current topics in education. Dates: 1965-present.
  • Project Muse
    Scholarly articles in many subjects, especially the humanities and social sciences. Dates vary.
  • ProQuest Newsstand
    Full text of national, international, and regional newspapers. Newspapers include The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, USA Today, The South Bend Tribune, and over 850 others. Updated daily; New York Times coverage is 1980-present.
  • PsycARTICLES
    Scholarly articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Dates: 1984-present.
  • PsycINFO
    Scholarly articles in psychology and related fields, including communicative disorders, linguistics, and social work. Dates: 1887-present.
  • psychotherapy.net
    Collection of 40 streaming videos in areas of psychotherapy.
  • PubMed
    Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Includes entire MEDLINE database plus more than 1 million additional life sciences article citations that are not in MEDLINE. Dates: 1865-current. Note: May not contain links to full text content at SMC. Ask a librarian for help!
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (print)
    Dates: 1941-2003. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • Regional Business News
    Full text of 75 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. Newspapers include Crain's Chicago Business, Indiana Business Magazine, and Indianapolis Business Journal. Transcripts include CNN, FOX, and CNBC business programs. Dates vary, mostly the previous 5-10 years.
  • Religion Index One (print)
    Dates: 1953-2006. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • RILM
    RILM is a music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 730,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
  • Science in Context
    Covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards. Includes topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as magazines and academic journals. Dates vary. Old link: http://smcproxy1.saintmarys.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_stmary_e?db=SCIC
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Comprehensive chemical and related scientific information, including patents, journal articles, substance information, regulated chemicals, chemical reactions, and chemical supplier information. Note: You will need to register for a username and password to log into this database. The registration page is available through your Chemistry course Blackboard page. Ask a Librarian for help!
  • SCOAP3
    Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics
  • Small Business Resource Center
    Information on starting, financing or managing a small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites. Old link: http://smcproxy1.saintmarys.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/inspire_stmary_e?db=SBRC
  • Social Sciences Index (print)
    Dates: 1974-1998. Location: Lower level (Back wall).
  • Social Work Abstracts
    Provides abstracts to articles in 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    Sociology research database. Includes full text articles from 900 journals, abstracts from 1,500 core coverage journals, and indexing for books, conference proceedings, and other non-journal content.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    A continuously-updated, growing scholarly encyclopedia of articles on all aspects of philosophy.
  • Statistical Abstracts of the U. S.
    Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • TOPICsearch
    Articles from popular magazines and newspapers on current events, controversial topics, and social, political, and economic issues. Dates: current.
  • Value Line Investment Survey Online
    Contains descriptions, probable relative price performance, projections, and more of key financial measures including 1,700 stocks. Updated weekly. Includes rolling three month (one quarter) back file.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
    Collections of primary source materials covering movements such as the Women's Suffrage Movement and the Guerrilla Girls. Also includes interpretive research essays on the documents. Note: The subscription to this database is made possible by a gift from Saint Mary’s alumnae Leslie Wilson ’76 and Jenni Wilson ’86.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip