This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://saintmarys.libguides.com/SocialWork Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources

Ask a librarian


Not finding what you need? Visit, IM, call or email a librarian. We are here to help you succeed.

Academic Semester reference hours:

M-Th 10:00 am-9:00 pm

Fri.    10:00 am-5:00 pm

Sun.    1:00 pm-9:00 pm

Get help!

No answer? Please leave a contact email or phone number in the chat window, and we'll follow up with you as soon as a librarian is on duty!

      
     

    Get help!

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    Videos on Library Research

    Welcome to the Social Work research guide--Click on the tabs above for resources by type.

    Image, Source: original negative

    [Miss Jane Addams holding a women [sic] garment, sitting between a loom and a spinning wheel in a room].  1927

    DN-0084134, Chicago Daily News negatives collection, Chicago History Museum.

    Library of Congress. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html (accessed June 20, 2012). 

    Full-length portrait of Miss Jane Adams, pacifist, reformer, and founder of the Hull House settlement house, holding a woven garment, sitting next to a spinning wheel and weaving machine in a room in Chicago, Illinois. A sign in the background reads: Hull House, 800 South Halsted Street. A sign in the background on the left side of the image reads: Women in Research.

    • Social Work Abstracts (Trial)
      Social Work Abstracts trial
      Provides abstracts to articles in 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).

    Some tips for finding government documents...

    Step by step to Gov Doc success

    1. Check OneSearch: https://www.saintmarys.edu/library/

    2. Find Articles in Academic Search Premier (ASP), ERIC, Military & Government

                    Collection, Newspaper Source, etc.; another good source for ideas

                    about laws to research is Congressional Digest in ASP—it may help

                    with legislative history or finding popular names for laws to research

                    in secondary sources.

    3. Search in other databases—check the library’s FindArticles page:

                    https://www.saintmarys.edu/library/find-articles

    4. Look for popular names of laws, Public Law (P.L.) numbers, relevant years, which

                   Congress enacted it.

    5. Go to FDsys: (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/)  to look for history (Advanced Search;

                   drop-down menu: History of Bills).

    6. Try other Gov Docs sources that may be of use:

                   THOMAS: http://thomas.loc.gov/

                   MetaLib:  http://metalib.gpo.gov/

                   OpenCRS:  https://opencrs.com/

    7. Try the ND library pages: http://library.nd.edu/reference/LegislationandLegislators.shtml

                   (for some databases, you may have to go over to ND, others are freely available

                   from the government.)

        

      Some Social Work courses...

      Intro to Social Work (Critical Thinking Seminar) (SW 202)

      Social Welfare Policy and Service (SW334)

      Research Methods (SW 430)

      Human Behavior and the Social Environment (SW 235)

       

          

        Periodicals Librarian

        Subject Guide

        Profile Image
        Ula Gabrielle Gaha
        Contact Info
        574.284.4178
        Send Email

        Ask

        Your questions are always welcome!

        ...click below to leave a comment for Sue

            
           

          Events

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip