Research Guides: Biology: Articles

Finding journal articles

Finding articles is a two step process.

To identify an article, search in the databases to the far right. Find articles that apply to your research question.

Locate the article in one of three ways.

Click on the full text link within the database.
Use the Find Text button to locate the full text of the article in print or online.
If we don't have the article in print or online, the Find Text button will help you submit a request for the article through Interlibrary Loan .

Need help? You can always Ask a Librarian!

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
383 journals in biology; many full text
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains 13.2 million archival records from 1994.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scientific citation indexing service. Also contains patent data and index of research data sets.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
435 titles in biology, botany, zoology, ecology; some full text; dates: early 1900s to, generally, 2-5 years ago

PLoS
Public Library of Science, open access to 7 high impact journals in biology and medicine

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
4 full text biology journals Cockroaches: Ecology, Behavior, and Natural History
Human Biology
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine
Technology and Culture