The best way to provide access to full-text articles from library databases is to give students a permalink to the article, and add the Saint Mary's College proxy prefix to the permalink. Here are some examples of where you can find the permalink to an article in a database:
In JSTOR:
In Project Muse:
If you want the link to your article to be available to students who are off-campus, you will need to add the proxy prefix to the beginning of the permalink.
The proxy prefix is https://login.stproxy.palni.edu/login?url=
If you add this string to the beginning of the URL for the article, it will send the student through the college's standard off-campus login page, where she is asked to provide her email username and password, to indicate that she is an authorized member of the Saint Mary's College community.
So for example, if the permalink to an article in a database is this:
http://www.jstor.org/stable/3648232
Then the "proxied" link would be this:
https://login.stproxy.palni.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/3648232
The first link will only work from on-campus; the second link will work from both on-campus and off-campus.
Note that for EBSCO databases, the permalink already includes the proxy prefix.
If you're linking to an article from within your Blackboard course, there is one more very important step: You need to choose the option to make the link open in a new window. (If you don't, the link will open within the Blackboard environment, and some databases, especially EBSCO databases, won't work within Blackboard):
