Research Guides: Bio 385: Introduction to Research: Articles

Finding journal articles

Finding articles is a two step process.

To identify an article, search in recommended databases. Find articles that apply to your research question.

Locate the article in one of three ways.

Click on the full text link within the database.
Use the Find Text button to locate the full text of the article in print or online.
If we don't have the article in print or online, the Find Text button will help you submit a request or you may complete an Article Request .

Need help? You can always Ask a Librarian!

View a larger version of the video without captions

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scientific citation indexing service. Also contains patent data and index of research data sets.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
383 journals in biology; many full text
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains 13.2 million archival records from 1994.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in many subjects, especially the humanities and social sciences. Generally does not include recent issues.
MEDLINE with Full Text (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Contains links to full text content at SMC. Dates: 1950s-present.

PLoS
Public Library of Science, open access to 7 high impact journals in biology and medicine

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
4 full text biology journals Cockroaches: Ecology, Behavior, and Natural History
Human Biology
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine
Technology and Culture
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Click "FindText" icon for access to Saint Mary's resources. Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Includes MEDLINE database plus more than 1 million additional life sciences article citations that are not in MEDLINE.