|
Checklist or worksheet--what you need to include in a Legislative History (if available)
|
|||||||||
| State: | |||||||||
| what you need | Where to look: | sample | |||||||
| 1 | Session Law | Indiana Acts (Laws of the State of Indiana, Passed and Published, at the . . . Session of the General Assembly) | free gov. site: http://iga.in.gov/legislative/laws/acts/ | Advanced Search, ending family homelessness | 8 results--choose House Bill 1380 | links in left column; mck vento not found in search | search engine--state laws and mckinney vento act indiana | http://www.doe.in.gov/student-services/mckinney-vento-law | |
| 2 | legislative journals | http://iga.in.gov/legislative/2014/house/journals/01/ and http://iga.in.gov/legislative/2014/senate/journals/01/ | Search using LEGISLATIVE JOURNALS--[name of state] as a subject search; not finding from 1987 online | ||||||
| 3 | Bills and Resolutions | http://iga.in.gov/legislative/2016/bysubject/#to_H | drop down: Previous Session Archives | ||||||
| 4 | Committee Records | Committee reports exist online, for the current legislative session and are archived (dating back to 1997). But these reports do not include any explanation, analysis, rationale, or statement of intent. Committee reports include only the committee's recommendation (e.g., "do pass") and/or the recommended amended text. | http://www.in.gov/legislative/2414.htm Session Archive back to 1997 | search homeless | http://www.in.gov/legislative/bills/2006/EH/EH1006.1.html | list of bills--search Mckinney Vento--16 results | |||
| 5 | Policy or Interim Study Committees | interim archives http://www.in.gov/legislative/2415.htm or The websites of the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus, Indiana Senate Republican Caucus, Indiana House Democrats, and Indiana House Republicans provide access to audio and video files of Interim Committee meetings, presentations, member statements, and press opportunities. The Indiana Senate Democrats' blog (The Briefing Room) provides information on Interim Committees, including public testimony, committee hearings and presentations, meeting details and agendas, and correspondence. (from http://law.indiana.libguides.com/c.php?g=19805&p=112378) |
|||||||
| 6 | Library databases search--name of law AND Indiana | Academic Search Ultimate + Social Work Aabstracts, Sociology and Social Work Indexes, Military & Governmant, ERIC; Nexis Uni, and other relevant databases | http://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1072610 (353 results for Mckinney vento Act | http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED466669--2 results with AND Indiana | http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED474385 |