Saint Mary's College students, faculty, and staff can sign up for unlimited, free access to The New York Times online (https://www.nytimes.com/).
The Library funds free online access to Financial Times via the database Lexis Nexis. Go to this catalog record--Financial Times--and follow the links.
To access the Wall Street Journal online, go to saintmarys.libguides.com/wsj/home and register. Available to all faculty, students, and staff at Saint Mary's College.
As of February 1, 2018 unlimited access to Washington Post for people with .edu, .mil, or .gov email addresses has gone away. Free access is now limited to 20 articles per month for nonsubscribers.
Alternative access? Via the library database Newspapers Source Plus -- Washington Post.
These databases are provided by the Indiana General Assembly to all citizens of Indiana and will be accessible to the students in your student teaching classrooms. Titles in purple may be good places to start for finding primary sources.
Biography in Context
Includes entries on more than 500,000 individuals spanning history and geography.
DocsTeach
Online tool for teaching with documents from the National Archives
Educator Resources
From the National Archives, including document analysis worksheets
Explora for Elementary Schools
A student interface designed for use in kindergarten through grade 5 with a focus on the arts, literature, biography, current events, geography, culture, health, history, math, science and more. Includes primary source documents.
Explora for Middle Schools
A student interface designed for use in grades 6 through 8 with a focus on the arts, literature, biography, current events, geography and culture, health, history, math, science and more. Includes primary source documents.
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Contains images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. Updated annually. Includes primary source documents.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of multi-disciplinary reference eBooks offered by Gale.
History Reference Center
Designed for secondary schools, this database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.
Indiana History Online
Contains primary source materials from Indiana's history. Includes a wide variety of old documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises, books and children's books.
Indiana Memory
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions.
Middle Search Plus
Contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. Also contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue.
Primary Search
Contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
TOPICsearch
This current events database on topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. International newspapers and periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.