Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics 235: Home

How to find primary sources (research articles) through the library

STEP 1: USE THIS LINK to Start at the library homepage: saintmarys.edu/library

IT WILL LOOK LIKE THE SCREENSHOT, below!

STEP 2: Mouse over the grey Research bar to see the drop-down menu

STEP 3: Choose the A - Z Database List and change to the Subject area you want with the top-left drop-down.

or use the link to Research Guides (for a compilation of information in your subject area or class)

or go to the List of Journals (if you know the title of the journal you want to read or search, e.g., Social Work Today)

or...

another option is to search the library catalog--coming soon, see the Library Catalog search tutorials page for more: https://saintmarys.libguides.com/tutorials.

Research Process in Databases

Constructing a search

This is your assignment:

...explaining the global interdependence for one of the following topics that cross national boundaries:

1) nuclear non-proliferation treaties/nuclear weapon stewardship,

2) medical isotope production and distribution, or

3) nuclear power isotope production and distribution.

some potentially useful websites

Library catalog search box

Results page:

A - Z Database list

Finding Full Text

The FindText button sometimes looks a little different in different databases and platforms/interfaces.

However it looks, it takes you to the full text if we subscribe, or to an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) option to request what you need from another library through our ILL service.

More information on ILL: https://www.saintmarys.edu/library/research/ill-forms

from the library website:

Databases to try

EBSCOhost: Academic Search Ultimate

                          Choose Databases

 

Web of Science

 

Google Scholar

Scholarly Communications Librarian

Profile Photo
Sue Wiegand
Contact:
123 Cushwa-Leighton Library

Saint Mary's College

574.284.4789

Scholarly sources

from: Purdue OWL

Online Databases

Often, the most reliable information you will find on the internet will come from online databases. A database is a large collection of data, usually about one specific topic or idea. Some databases contain a broader field of information, while some are narrower. For example, Hoosier State Chronicles is a database that only houses Indiana newspapers, while JSTOR is a database that holds a wider variety of journals and books.

When looking for online sources, using a database helps you find credible information. In order for a source to be included in a database, it usually must go through a screening process that requires individuals to verify the information in the text. Because of this cross-checking process, the articles you find in databases will usually be more reliable than sources you might find simply by looking for them using a search engine.

evaluate!