Research Guides: Gerontology 201: Supporting your policy brief

Research Tools

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to articles in 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology research database. Includes full text articles from 900 journals, abstracts from 1,500 core coverage journals, and indexing for books, conference proceedings, and other non-journal content.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. Includes full-text access to the journal Science, 1990 - present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in psychology and related fields, including speech language pathology, linguistics, and social work. Dates: 1887-present.
Lexis Nexis Academic (now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to news, business, and legal information.
Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
Includes statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities

DSM 5-TR
Online version of The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)
All EBSCO health databases
Search six EBSCOhost health databases from one platform - Biomedical Reference Collection; CINAHL with full text; Health Business Full Text; Health Source Consumer Edition; Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition; Medline

Administration on Aging
Dept. of Health and Human Services
National Council on Aging
Non-profit advocacy organization
National Institute on Aging
Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Comprehensive source of health information from US Dept. of Health and Human Services
Healthcare.gov
Aid to understanding the March 23, 2010 Affordable Care Act
Healthy People 2030
National health objectives
National Center for Health Statistics
Provided by Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Indiana: Aging Well
State of Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
Information about aging well, protecting adults, programs and services, and more.

AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare, Research, and Quality
Evidence-based practice reports, technology assessments, surveys, research newsletters. US Dept. of Health and Human Services
American Society on Aging
ASA is the essential resource to cultivate leadership, advance knowledge, and strengthen the skills of our members and others who work with, and on behalf of, older adults.
Bioethics.net
Promotes scholarly and public understanding of the ethical, legal, social, and public policy implications of advances in medicine. Penn Center sponsor
Gerontological Society of America
We foster collaboration between biologists, health professionals, policymakers, behavioral and social scientists, and other age studies scholars and researchers. We believe the intersection of research from diverse areas is the best way to achieve the greatest impact and promote healthy aging.
Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance
Mission: to educate about the dangers of asbestos, help prevent future asbestos-related illnesses, and provide pertinent information to those who have been diagnosed.
World Health Organization
United Nations authority on global health matters