Research Guides: DNP Library Resources: Articles

Core nursing databases

All EBSCO health databases
Search six EBSCOhost health databases from one platform - Biomedical Reference Collection; CINAHL with full text; Health Business Full Text; Health Source Consumer Edition; Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition; Medline

CINAHL-Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, excellent place to begin your nursing research. Includes full text to 610 nursing journals and indexing to thousands of other nursing journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in health, medicine, and nursing, Includes entire Medline database plus more than 1 million additional article citations that are not in Medline.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Medical textbooks, drug monographs, multimedia tools, case studies, self assessment tools, and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in psychology and related fields, including speech language pathology, linguistics, and social work. Dates: 1887-present.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
A clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.
Isabel This link opens in a new window
Isabel provides health care workers with a list of possible diagnoses after they enter patient workup information; also contains drug interference information.

Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews

A systematic review gathers studies to identify, select, and critically appraise relevant research. It poses a highly specific research question that requires examination of homogenous studies, usually quantitative studies. It aims to find consensus in the literature to settle the research question and provide a single summary and analysis on the effectiveness of a specific intervention for clinical application.

Using Systematic Reviews

Systematic reviews (as well as all other reviews and meta-analysis articles) are Level 1 on the Melnyk & Fineout-Overholt Hierarchy of Evidence. These articles are not novel or primary resources, and so they cannot be used in literature reviews or PICO analyses. These studies are useful in the following ways:

A background resource to gain understanding of the topic; to gain understanding of current best practice and areas for further research
A resource to learn preferred terms and vocabulary
A source to cite in the "background" of a paper or article
A source to use to find other sources (from the systematic review's "References" page)

Finding Systematic Reviews

While many journals publish systematic reviews, in Nursing Science, Cochrane and Joanne Briggs Institute are premier resources and an excellent place to start.

Gaining Access to Systematic Reviews

As with all other articles, if Saint Mary's College does not have full-text access, SMC affiliates can request articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews in healthcare.

Joanna Briggs Institute
Abstracts containing background, objectives, inclusion criteria, participants, interventions, types of studies, outcomes, search strategies, data collection, data analysis, results, and conclusions are provided.

More options

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
109 journals in nursing, many full text.
Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles in clinical medicine and others. This database is included in Medline.
Health Business Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on hospital and health care management and administration.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology. Contains links to full text content at SMC. Dates: 1950s-present.

PLoS
Public Library of Science, open access to 7 high impact journals in biology and medicine.